Thirsty Thursday: Banana Smoothie

This past week I have started working overnight shifts, which have thrown off  not only my sleeping habits but my food choices too. Do I want breakfast or dinner food at 7:30PM? Do I eat lunch at midnight? I get home at 10AM and can’t decide if I should have an after-work cocktail or be good and have something healthy to compensate for all the free frozen meals I’ve been eating from the resident lounge. This is my first time eating frozen meals since I was a kid. I was obsessed with Kid Cuisine and the little penguin mascot! It is safe to say that frozen meals have not come very far since my Kid Cuisine days. They taste a lot worse than I thought they would, but when hunger strikes at 3AM and the cafeteria is closed, you gotta do it. Just make something tastier when you get home.

This is a recipe from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. This is one giant book with a ton of recipes. The photographs are few and not very pretty, but the recipes I have tried have all been delicious and easy to make. I do not think they are the most inspiring recipes, so I probably would not use any of her recipes if I were trying to impress guests. However, it is a good resource for simple everyday meals and a great introduction to vegetarian cooking. This smoothie has a nice tartness from the yogurt and takes literally 1 minute to make and probably another minute to clean up!

Banana Smoothie

From Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison

Serves 1

photo (16)

1 ripe banana

3/4 cup milk (your milk of choice whether dairy or non-dairy)

1/4 cup yogurt or buttermilk

1 tsp honey or sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1. Add all the ingredients to a blender and puree!

-Lisa

Leave a Reply

