Thirsty Thursday: Watermelonade

My mom and aunt came to visit this past weekend. They basically watched me sleep because I was working nights. Ryan was such a gentleman and took them out all around Cambridge while I was resting. My mom, in her typical fashion, brought me a bunch of gifts from back home  including a giant watermelon. I saw this recipe for Watermelonade on Food52 (one of my favorite sites ever) and knew that it would be perfect for celebrating the end of summer.

For this recipe, I used the Breville juicer that I bought for Ryan’s birthday two years ago. I highly recommend this product. All the juices I’ve made with it have been superb. I’ve had it for a long time without any issues, although I admit I don’t use it regularly. If you don’t have a juicer, you can blend the watermelon and strain it in a sieve as directed in the original recipe. I also always keep a bottle of simple syrup prepared in the fridge, so this really was so simple to whip up. This beverage is a tasty way to hydrate yourself in the last couple weeks of summer!

Watermelonade

By Merrill Stubbs, From Food52

Serves 10

1/2 cup sugar

4 cups cubed watermelon

3 1/2 cups water

1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

1. Bring sugar and 1/2 cup water to a boil in a small saucepan, stirring sugar to dissolve. Set aside.

2. Put the cubed watermelon in a juicer (or blend until smooth and strain through a fine mesh sieve). You should have about 2 cups of watermelon juice.

photo 2 (14) photo 1 (12)

3. Mix the sugar syrup with 3 cups cold water and lemon juice. Stir well.

4. Fill glasses with ice, add about 3 tablespoons of watermelon juice and then top off with lemonade. Stir gently before serving.

 photo 5 (3)

-Lisa

Leave a Reply

