Sweet Saturday: Yoga Cookies

Anybody who knows me, knows that I love yoga. It has helped me become a less anxious and a more thoughtful, patient person- which is good for not only myself, but everyone around me.  It’s amazing what a little bit of moving meditation can do. I like to practice many styles of yoga. However, I have a particular affection for Bikram yoga, heated practices, and Ashtanga. Unfortunately, my budget does not always allow me to go to a studio. The great thing about yoga is that there are so many podcasts  and vodcasts available on the internet, and you don’t need any equipment except a mat. I often practice in my apartment when I can’t fork up the money to pay for to a class.

I also find that practicing yoga regularly encourages me to treat my body better. I have a big sweet tooth (and my dentist can assure you that I have the cavities in my mouth to prove it). These “Yoga cookies” from Chloe’s Kitchen by Chloe Coscarelli make me not feel so guilty for indulging myself. They are vegan, whole wheat, and a perfect after-yoga treat.

Yoga Cookies

From Chloe’s Kitchen by Chloe Coscarelli

Makes 32 2-inch cookies

1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour or all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup canola oil

1/2 cup agave or maple syrup

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (any nut will work too)

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, and salt.

 photo 2 (15)

3. In a separate bowl, whisk oil, agave, and vanilla.

photo 3 (14)

4. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and whisk until combined.

photo 4 (6)

5. Using a large spoon or spatula, fold in the oats, coconut, raisins, walnuts, and chocolate chips.

photo 5 (4)

6. Scoop about 1 1/2 tablespoons of cookie dough onto the prepared baking sheet and flatten the dough with the palm of your hand.

photo 2 (16)

7. Bake for 12 to 14 minutes until the edges of the cookies are golden.

photo 1 (14)

Namaste!

-Lisa

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

